Between 21 and 23 February we will be moving to our new offices. Our telephone systems will be temporarily disrupted until Monday 26 February AM.

Thank you for your understanding.

Echo Klassik Awards

Four artists win Echo Klassik Awards

10 July 2012

Alison Balsom, Maurizio Pollini, Peter Eötvös and Lera Auerbach have been awarded prizes in the 2012 Echo Klassik Awards, it was announced today.

Alison Balsom wins the Trumpet Instrumentalist of the Year category for her EMI album 'Seraph', featuring concertos by Arutiunian, MacMillan and Zimmermann. The disc was recorded with both the Scottish Ensemble with Jonathan Morton and the BBC Scottish Symphony under Lawrence Renes.

RPS Instrumentalist of the year Maurizio Pollini tops the 19th Century Concerto Recording of the year category for his disc of Brahms' Concerto No. 1 with Staatskapelle Dresden and Christian Thielemann for Deutsche Gramophon. Acclaimed since its release, Pollini's playing of the concerto was described by BBC Music Magazine as "one of the most beautiful and refinedly spiritual interpretations in recent years."

Composer/Conductor Peter Eötvös wins in the 20th and 21st Century Choral Recording of the Year category for his Ligeti CD for BMC Records. Renowned for his interpretations of contemporary compositions, Eötvös's winning recording was made with the SWR Vokalensemble, Rundfunkchor Köln and the WDR Sinfonieorchester.

Lera Auerbach's The Little Mermaid was also recognised in the Music DVD Production of the Year category. The ballet, directed and choreographed by John Neumeier, was filmed for DVD release in November 2011 by C Major Entertainment.

Established in 1992, the German-based ECHO Klassik awards are given for outstanding achievement on record in a variety of categories and are some of the most respected and well-known of their kind in the industry. The awards will be presented in a ceremony in October 2012 at Berlin's Konzerthaus, which will also be televised via the German network ZDF.

Click here to view a notebook featuring the winning artists

Echo Klassik Awards website