Recordings featuring Five HarrisonParrott Artists win 2018 ICMA Prizes

18 January 2018

Recordings featuring Krystian Zimerman, Hannu Lintu, Anne Sofie von Otter, Sol Gabetta, and Andrew Foster-Williams have been awarded prizes in the 2018 International Classical Music Awards (ICMA). 

In the Solo Instrument category, Krystian Zimerman wins for his Deutsche Grammophon recording of Franz Schubert: Piano Sonatas D 959 & D 960.  The album was released in October 2017. 

In the Concerto category Sol Gabetta’s Sony Classical recording Elgar: Cello Concerto – Martinu: Cello Concerto No.1 is honoured.  This disc was recorded with Berliner Philharmoniker conducted by Sir Simon Rattle and Krzysztof Urbanski. 

Hannu Lintu features as conductor on the winning CD in the Assorted Programmes category: Jean Sibelius: Tapiola – En Saga – 8 Songs (Orch. Aulis Sallinen) (Ondine) with Anne Sofie von Otter and Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra.   

Rounding out the Awards involving HarrisonParrott artists is the winner of the Opera category Camille Saint-Saëns: Proserpine (Ediciones Singulares), featuring bass-baritone Andrew Foster-Williams

A jury of 17 editors of European classical music magazines and websites chose the ICMA winners. The Award Ceremony and Gala Concert will take place on 6 April at the concert hall of the National Symphony Orchestra of the Polish Radio in Katowice. 

ICMA website