Martin Fröst, Susanna Mälkki and Víkingur Ólafsson nominated for 2017 Nordic Council Music Prize

27 April 2017

Martin FröstSusanna Mälkki and Víkingur Ólafsson have been nominated for the 2017 Nordic Council Music Prize. Established in 1965 to recognise outstanding achievement in creative and practical music, the prestigious prize is awarded every other year to a work by a living composer and in alternating years to a performing musician or ensemble. This year’s winner – selected from a shortlist of 13 nominees – will be announced at a special gala held at Helsinki’s Finlandia Hall on 1 November. Previous winners include Björk, Kaija Saariaho and Pekka Kuusisto.

Following on from her recently acclaimed debut at the Metropolitan Opera, Susanna Mälkki has also been nominated in the Conductor category of the 2017 International Opera Awards. The winners will be announced at a ceremony taking place at the London Coliseum on 7 May. Past recipients of the Conductor prize include Gianandrea Noseda, Semyon Bychkov and Sir Antonio Pappano.