Jean-Efflam Bavouzet

Jean-Efflam Bavouzet wins artist of the year at International Classical Music Awards

27 February 2012

Jean-Efflam Bavouzet, Harry Christophers and Paavo Järvi have been awarded prizes at this year's International Classical Music Awards (ICMA).

Jean-Efflam Bavouzet has been awarded the artist of the year prize for his consistently acclaimed performances and recordings, the latter in particular receiving numerous awards over several years. His most recent Chandos CD - works for piano and Orchestra by Debussy, Massenet and Ravel - was given a Gramophone award in autumn 2011. This year, Bavouzet also performs at the ICMA awards ceremony in May.

Paavo Järvi wins in the "choral works" category for his Virgin Classics recording of Fauré's Requiem with Orchestre de Paris, Matthias Goerne and Philippe Jaroussky. The recording garnered many positive reviews on its release, with BBC Music commenting on "its beautifully warm, full sound being a core strength that colours both timbre and interpretation", with The Independent praising Järvi's "uncanny knack to somehow derive spiritual uplift from the gloomiest of subjects that most impresses here, a talent tailored to fit such needs.”

The "early music" category is headed up by Harry Christophers, who wins for his acclaimed Coro CD of Palestrina with The Sixteen.  Writing in The Guardian, Andrew Clements praised the vitality of the playing: "the performances are wonderfully alive to both the verbal and the musical meaning, the sound of the 18 voices of the Sixteen consistently warm and transparent".

The winners will receive ICMA Trophies during the annual Award Ceremony, taking place this year in Nantes, on 15 May. This evening will also include a Gala Concert at La Cité, with the participation of ICMA winners and the Orchestre National des Pays de la Loire conducted by its music director John Axelrod. The concert will also be broadcast by France Musique and numerous other radio stations of the European Broadcasting Union's worldwide network.