Echo Klassik Awards 2010

Four artists presented with ECHO Klassik awards

18 October 2010

Paavo Järvi, Alice Sara Ott, Janine Jansen and Hélène Grimaud have all been presented with prizes in the 2010 ECHO Klassik awards ceremony, held on Sunday 17 October at Essen's Philharmonie. Established in 1992, the ECHO awards are given for outstanding achievement on record in a variety of categories and are some of the most respected and well-known of their kind in the industry.

Paavo Järvi topped the Conductor of the Year category with his release of Beethoven’s Symphonies Nos. 2 & 6 (with Die Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen) for Sony Classical, whilst Alice Sara Ott received the "Young Artist of The Year" award for her CD of Chopin’s Waltzes for Deutsche Grammophon – already hugely popular as a digital download in her native Germany.

Janine Jansen’s Beethoven & Britten Violin Concertos disc (with Paavo Järvi, Die Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen and the London Symphony Orchestra) was awarded top prize in the Concerto Recording of the Year category (for 20th and 21st Century music), and Hélène Grimaud’s critically acclaimed DVD, ‘A Russian Night’, with Claudio Abbado and the Lucerne Festival Orchestra for Deutsche Grammophon, won the DVD Production of the Year award.

Click here to view a notebook featuring these award winners.


Echo Klassik Awards website