Home > Artists > Han-Na Chang


Music Director: Qatar Philharmonic Orchestra
Principal Guest Conductor: Trondheim Symfoniorkester
Artistic Director: Absolute Classic Festival


Han-Na Chang is emerging as one of the brightest conducting talents of her generation, having already established an internationally successful career as cellist since winning both the First Prize and the Contemporary Music Prize at the Fifth Rostropovich International Cello Competition in Paris in 1994 at the age of 11. Her artistry and the depth of interpretation she brings to her performances, both as an instrumentalist and a conductor, have placed her at the forefront as one of the world's most respected and multi-faceted artists.

Now dedicating the majority of her time to conducting, this season she becomes Music Director of the Qatar Philharmonic Orchestra and Principal Guest Conductor of the Trondheim Symfoniorkester, both appointments immediately following her debut appearances with the orchestras. Recent and future guest engagements include Staatskapelle Dresden, WDR Sinfonieorchester Köln, Bamberger Symphoniker, Gothenburg Symphony, Seattle Symphony, Philharmonia Orchestra, Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra, the Grosses Orchester Graz, Orchestra del Teatro di San Carlo di Napoli, and the Singapore, Tokyo and Tivoli symphony orchestras.

The short biography displayed on this page is for information only. For concert programmes and promotional materials please use the downloadable versions.


“Remorseless Fate dominates this roaring symphony [Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No.4] in which conductor Han-Na Chang released the music in torrents: it was an interpretation of extreme dynamics. Chang enjoyed to the full the pithiness of the work as well as its Romanticism, drawing brilliance from the woodwinds and brass and compact energy from the strings. At the end there was enormous applause for this demonstration of orchestral class.” (Kultur, December 2012)

“With rhythmic and dynamic finesse, Han-Na Chang drew immaculate contributions from the brass and woodwind and delivered a meaningful interpretation of Tchaikovsky’s Fourth Symphony. Absolutely top class!” (Kleine Zeitung, December 2012)

"Here was not a run-of-the-mill performance by a journeyman conductor passing through, but a wholly compelling one from a true musician...one was not so much struck by the angst and suffering from this wartime symphony, but by the power and beauty of the music...A welcome return by Chang the conductor, as well as cellist, could not come soon enough" (The Straits Times, September 2012)

“But the already anticipated treat of the concert was also fully up to expectations: that still rare phenomenon, a woman conductor, in the person of South Korea's Han-Na Chang...Rostrum manner does count, and can here be summed up not only as confident and astute, but also as inspired. Ms Chang is the epitome of the incredible lightness of being: agile, nimble and bang on the beat.” (The Liverpool Echo, February 2012)

“A performance oozing soul and individuality.” (BBC Music Magazine)

“She plays with such conviction that you feel she too could have been the inspiration for great composers. Chang combines raw emotion with a structural grip that, in its way, is even more remarkable in one so young.” (Gramophone)

“Chang brings clear-sighted belief to everything she touches. Her range is generous indeed, from barely-audible ghostly voices to high-octane drama…” (BBC Music Magazine, May 2006)

"[Han-Na] has an enviable power to move her audiences…she’s a natural performer whose musicianship is intense, profound and astonishingly mature." (The Strad)

"[She] plays with great technical assurance and produces a beautiful tone" (The New York Times)

"An extraordinary sense of fearless adventure" (The Times)

"Truly stunning performances of passion and urgency"(Classics Today)


Shostakovich: Cello Concerto 1 & Cello Sonata
Prokofiev: Sinfonia concertante